tumblr_lm173sMIPx1qkdug7o1_500

Image Credits: Sincerely J

Hey everyone. Happy November 1st! I’m not sure what the weather is like for all of you guys today, but here in South Jersey it’s been cold and raining all day. And if you’re a hearing aid user like I am, the rain may be a bit annoying. Hearing aids just aren’t the most waterproof things in the world, that’s for sure.

I’m getting closer and closer to my next surgeon appointment (it’s on Wednesday, November 5th by the way). As I previously stated I should know the date of my surgery after this appointment. It should be before Christmas, maybe even before Thanksgiving. Everything has been happening so quickly with it all that it only makes sense that it’s been one of the only things on my mind lately.

As it rains today I keep thinking of yet another thing I’m very excited to do post-activation: get caught in the rain.

Have I ever been caught in the rain before? Oh yes. Plenty of times. Just check out this picture from this past 4th of July when I decided to go for a walk before checking the forecast…

10257113_10205183043239278_941724674985852856_n

Yeah…I had my hearing aids in that day. It didn’t go over too well. Hearing aids aren’t water proof like at all. One of them almost died on me. I had to lightly blow dry it, pump the water out, and place it in my sta-dri dehumidifer for awhile. I’m surprised this outing didn’t completely kill it. A few years ago I got a little too wet while riding a log steam ride in Hershey Park and it totally destroyed my hearing aid. Hearing aids are super expensive (over $2,000 each) and mine are not covered by insurance at all — so ruining a hearing aid to water id devastating.

Another better memory I have of getting caught in the rain goes back to September 13, 2014 when I was with my now-boyfriend (this was actually the day we became official!). We went to Wheaton Village and it began to rain. I had to remove my hearing aids and keep them in my purse/pocket so they wouldn’t get ruined. We had a lot of fun in the rain trying (and failing) to avoid the puddles. Whenever it rains now I think of this memory and can’t help but smile. But at the same time I think about how much better this memory could have been if I  could actually hear him and didn’t have to take my hearing aids out…

This is my boyfriend, Larry by the way. This picture was taken just a few hours after our trip to Wheaton Village. My hair is all messed up from the rain lol. This is also the first picture we’ve ever taken together.

10608707_10204778462805020_4969071315640023582_o

There’s something romantic about the rain. I’m not sure what that is, but in every good romance movie you see the couple get caught in the rain, kiss in the rain, or whatever and it just looks so incredibly romantic. What girl hasn’t wanted to recreate one of those scenes at least once during their life time?

notebook-315151_300x140

Fact: every girl who’s ever seen the movie The Notebook has dreamed of recreating this epic kiss in the pouring rain. Any girl who tries to tell you otherwise is definitely lying. Image Credits: Live For Films 

When you’re HOH and wear hearing aids, these idea of trying to recreate it suddenly becomes a bit less romantic. It’s more of a “Oh god it’s raining I have to hurry up and find shelter. I need to take my hearing aids out.” Followed by a, “I can’t hear a word you’re saying because I had to take my hearing aids out”. Far from romantic.

After I get my cochlear implant I really won’t have to worry about this so much. I still haven’t chosen which implant I will get, but I’m definitely leaning towards getting one from Advanced Bionics and I’m especially interested in the water proof model, which I believe is called The Neptune. The fact that you can actually go swimming with this processor blows my mind. Definitely nowheres near possible to do with my hearing aids, that’s for sure!

The only thing I’m not sure about regarding the waterproof Neptune processor is that it looks like it doesn’t go behind the ear. The processor looks like it would have to attach to your clothes and that would drive me nuts. I definitely want one that looks more like my hearing aids I have now and that go behind the ear. I’m trying to avoid having to attach the processor to my clothes at all costs. Leaning towards getting a processor that looks more like this:

654260988

Image Credits: Advanced Bionics 

This one is called the Harmony. It also says it’s water resistant, so that’s a plus. Although I’m not sure if you can go swimming with it like you can with the Neptune. I wouldn’t mind that though. Yeah, I go swimming about once or twice a week in the summer when the pool is open, but if I have to remove my processor it’s not a biggie. I definitely just want the processor that will give me the most clarity and work the best with my hearing. Being water proof is just an extra bonus. From what my surgeon told me I’ll  be able to enjoy getting caught in the rain with any model I choose.

It’s the little things like this that I’m looking the most forward to. For those of you that can hear and don’t have to rely on hearing aids or whatever, don’t take anything for granted. There are some people out there who which they could enjoy getting caught in the rain sometime and actually be able to hear the rain as it falls down around them. This will be something I should hopefully be able to enjoy in the upcoming months, and I really can’t wait for that.

