I got a new pair of glasses today…

10365712_10205269393637984_8735043438969551382_n

And they’re already broken. (Kind of).

But this is a good thing. In fact, the whole reason I bought them was so the doctor could (temporarily) break them for me. I’m not insane, I promise. I’m actually doing exactly what I’m supposed to be doing in preparation for my upcoming cochlear implant surgery.

I wear glasses every day. My vision is kind of bad without them. With my hearing being as bad as it is I rely very heavily on my eyes to help me hear in a way. But I never wore contacts ever. I don’t think I would do too well with contacts since my eyes are naturally very dry and my nails are pretty sharp. I’d probably dry my eyes out and scratch them from my nails if I tried them, which doesn’t at all sound like fun.

I considered getting a 30-day trial of contacts for after my surgery. I can’t have the arm on my glasses after my surgery because of the incision. I can’t have anything hit my incision at all at least until it heals/the stitches come out. I also cannot wear contacts to my surgery. Trying to learn contacts and all of that jazz after my surgery doesn’t sound like fun. After my surgery I definitely won’t feel like going to see the doctor my mom works for, Dr. Roth, and having him put contacts in my eyes, that’s for sure. But I still kind of really need to see. So that’s where these glasses come in.

15822_10205270056454554_4000650734153918195_n

This is how I look when I work from home… like a hot mess. I debated on whether or not to post this, but my boyfriend said I still looked beautiful (yeah I’m thoroughly convinced he’s lying to make me feel better lol) and he’s the only one who’s opinion I care about…so here ya go…

Wearing the broken glasses didn’t feel as weird as I thought they would. I was afraid they’d fall off my face and annoy me. I forgot they were missing an arm like right away. They felt natural. But they were kind of hard to take them off. I mean they may be broken, but they are still new and after my surgery I plan to put the other arm back on and to use them as a backup pair of glasses (these aren’t terrible but my other pair of glasses are much prettier and better made…)so I still try to be careful. Taking glasses off that only have one arm is kind of awkward. My mom kept laughing at me as I tried. Like normally you use both hands and grab each side to put them on or off — but there’s only one side to grab…so it’s like “oh okay uh how does this work now?” lol.

I think these will be manageable after my surgery — or at least I hope so. Since I won’t be able to hear out of the implanted ear for a month I kind of need to  be able to see. I’m probably not going to want to watch TV or listen to music much in that month. It sounds like that would be kind of hard. I’m planning to read a bit more than usual. I actually just picked up a new book for after my surgery so I hope reading it won’t be too much of a challenge lol.

I think this should just about be the last step of preparing for my cochlear implant surgery. My surgery is now just over 3 days away! It’s getting really exciting now!

