10689758_10205301453439459_7056656269914948599_n

 

How do you like my new cone of honor? A bit ridiculous, right? Fortunately, it gets to come off tomorrow. Unfortunately, my hair is only going to look a lot worst in the days to come. Because of the stitches which are all hiding beneath my cone, I can’t wash my hair for the next month. :'(.

I sent this picture to Larry. He said I still look beautiful. I think he’s full of shit, but he always does a good job of making me smile.

I can’t believe that it’s all over already. It went by so fast yesterday. It felt like they put me under anaesthesia and then two seconds later the surgical team or nurses or whoever it was woke me up and it was all over. I didn’t think they did it at first. When I woke up I grabbed at the side of my head and felt the cone – that’s how I knew they did it (I was way too drugged up and groggy to feel any pain yet).

My recovery is going pretty well. I’m in a bit of pain now, but the medicine helps a lot. It makes me really sleepy though. I’m off of work for the next week and already going a bit insane. I can’t watch TV (I mean, technically I can, but I REALLY can’t hear anything now that I’m missing a hearing aid and won’t be activated until next month. Reading captions without any sound isn’t the same), so I ‘ve been reading a lot. It gets boring fast though. I’m already eager to get back to work, even if I will only be working from home for the next month or so.

I think Larry is coming over tomorrow. I felt bad that he wasn’t allowed at the hospital, but they said it was only open for immediate family members (plus, my parents didn’t really want him there anyway). He can’t stay for long because I need to rest/sleep, but I’m really looking forward to seeing him. I really miss him. He says he has a surprise for me.

I can’t believe that it’s all over and done with now…now it’s just the waiting period. My anxiety is going to kill me. What if it doesn’t work? What if the whole thing is a mistake? Will it be everything I’m expecting it to be? What if I still can’t hear – will Larry and my family be disappointed? I’m excited, but also terrified of it all. December 17th can’t come soon enough. I just want to be activated and to find out what my future holds for me – and to learn why God has blessed me with this gift now after 24 years of silence.

